I Don’t Want to Say, “I Love You”

I don’t want to say, “I love you.” I know that’s a strange thing to say on Valentine’s Day, but it’s how I feel and not because I don’t love anybody.

I have a friend of mine who says he doesn’t celebrate Valentine’s Day because there’s such abundant romance on every other day of the year for him, why should 14-Feb be any different. If you know this guy, you’d understand that there’s a 3/4 inch coating of sarcasm on everything he says. But it made me think of a poem I wrote a few years ago:

You came to me like a story of make-believe
You helped me see the possibilities
You came and saved me from the norm,
But with that came another kind of storm

I’ve seen so much of what you have inside
You are an endless stream of giving

I don’t care about tomorrow
Everything I need is here today
Being without you brings such sorrow
Cause you’re the only thing that makes me feel sane

I don’t want to say I love you
I don’t want to just recite a script
I don’t want to say I love you
I just want to feel what I know I feel

I am you You are me

Sometimes words mean less when they are spoken without thought or reflection. Days like today turn us into robots with a script. Don’t let that happen to you. Say what you mean, mean what you say; feel what you feel. And if you’re lucky you’ll be able to express that to someone today – in your own words…

YvF

You Came

About Yorick von Fortinbras

YvF is a writer, musician that stays sane by being creative while navigating the demands of life, looking for those holes where a spark can get through.
This entry was posted in advice, love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Don’t Want to Say, “I Love You”

  1. mrphotog says:

    I’m not a fan of Valentines Day but this allowed me to see it in a different way.

  2. khizar hayat says:

    dön’t love frnd
    kzr.hyat

Leave a Reply

