Chaotic Thought Monday – Part Un

Check out my Guest Post today on the Schizophrenic Writer WordPress site. In other news…today is Monday. So it must be time for chaotic thoughts.

Monday, Monday...Can't touch that day

Let me set something straight. I WILL run your dog over.

Don’t get me wrong. I like animals. But if you have your dog on a 10 foot leash and don’t care if he’s in the street while you’re on the sidewalk. I will not swerve to avoid him. It is your responsibility to save Sparky’s life, not mine.

Let’s say I do swerve away from your dog. Then I risk hitting a car coming in the opposite direction and given the choice between colliding with 50 pounds of flesh and 1500 pounds of imported metal and plastic, well, there is no way I’m going to have any trouble making that decision. Sorry PETA.

But that’s not even the point. If you don’t care enough about your dog to rein him in while you carelessly talk on the phone or stare aimlessly at bushy-tailed squirrels frolicking in the branches, then I sure as hell don’t either.

Now that that has been clearly established, I’d like to take a moment to explain that normally my posts have a more focused topic or theme. But today, I’m feeling like I have so many disconnected ideas in my head that I won’t even try to seamlessly fit them together. But I think that’s OK. We’re all adults. We don’t need clean transitions ALL the time do we? I’ll just get them out of my system so I can cleanse and move on to [attempted] coherency tomorrow.

So, I received a text message from my dead friend yesterday morning. I’ve written about George in the past and this is another strange chapter. The message said, “Who is dis”. It made me think – if George, in the realm of the dead with access to all knowledge of the universe – doesn’t know who I am, then I think my answer needs to be, “No, I don’t think I do. Do you?” So thank you, George, for providing me with some insight. I don’t know who the text was really from. I don’t really want to think about it.

Something I have been thinking about is whether I should develop a Functional Lunatic insignia. Something that I can put on a coffee mug. a business card, maybe even a tattoo. But while thinking of ideas, I got caught up thinking about the process of thinking of ideas. As my mind fondled and spun around the concepts and I sat in the gym looking at the dopey faces in the gym mat, the song I was listening to, “Poor Tom” by Led Zeppelin distracted me. As my ideas bubbled to the surface of my consciousness, I realized they were like little bubbles and they were being popped by the bass lines in the song like a little toddler would pop bubbles blown with the wind. Listen to that song; concentrate on the bubbling bass lines and imagine your ideas floating away and getting popped. But you have to try to write them down before that friggin kid gets them.

Friday, I flipped on the classic rock station and heard 3 really good songs in a row from three eminent artists from the 60s, 70s, 80s through now: Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, U2. It was cool to hear them sequentially and I thought if there were only 3 bands I could pick the represent the last 40 years (post Beatles of course), that would be it right there.

My next thought is that knowledge is too easy to obtain these days. Before the internet, if you wanted to learn something you had to research it. This meant seeking out someone that you could talk to or finding a book on the topic in the library or the bookstore – some place that you had to physically go to (I know, ugh). It required more effort than plugging in some key words into a search engine. I was wondering if the effort to gain knowledge had anything to do with how efficiently it is retained in your mind. It seems like there might be a relationship there.

Next: don’t treat your kids like they’re always doing something wrong. Then they’ll either despise you and anything you have to say. Or, they’ll think that they are always doing something wrong.

I’ll leave you with a thought I had while listening to Stevie Wonder: I truly believe that a blind writer is a handicapped writer. Maybe it’s me, but as I write, I need to constantly go back and re-read what I’ve already written so each sentence blends into the next as best as possible (this post notwithstanding). If I was blind, I would have to rely on someone else to read it back to me, which would distract me and make me too self-conscious to create anything worth writing down. I guess he could use a braille typewriter, but – I still stand by my statement.

Well, now that I’ve gotten that junk out of my mind I can start thinking about my next real post. As I mentioned above, today I have a guest post up on the Schizophrenic Writer – please visit the link. But for now, my laptop cover will swing down and I will be off to the game of Life. Literally…I’m going to go play a game of “Life” right now.

YvF

About Yorick von Fortinbras

YvF is a writer, musician that stays sane by being creative while navigating the demands of life, looking for those holes where a spark can get through.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Dogs, george, Guest post, Mental problems, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

