I’m a Prick – How Did That Happen?

Just a little prick…

When did I become such a prick?

I like pretending I don’t see people as they run to the slowly closing doors begging, “please hold the elevator!” It gives me pleasure to see their frustrated figures in the ever shrinking gap between the doors as they come to the realization that they will have to wait another 8.6 seconds for the next car while I happily rise to my floor unimpeded.

I actually “pshaw’d” at a car because of its “Cancer Cares” license plate. I don’t know why. The money raised by people buying these plates couldn’t go to a more worthy cause.

I derive joy from hearing a stutterer having a hard time emitting a certain sentence.

I really like making other drivers realize they are idiots.

And I’m catching myself making the assumption that everyone else is as much a prick as I am.

Everyone has a little prick in them (and I’m not talking about Napoleon’s penis). The question is, “Why?” The 2nd question is, “Is there anything we can do about it?”

I think the answer lies in the frustration and pent up agression that we tend to feel as a result of job stress and the constant push to be efficient all the time. Letting a little steam out a little bit at a time prevents the big blow up.

Being a little prick actually helps us avoid being a huge dick in many cases.

In fact, if I had entitled this “how not to be a huge dick,” my advice would be to act like a little prick sometimes (Daniel Dalpiaz, maybe you’re on to something).

But we’re looking at a different problem here. I’m coming to the conclusion that it’s OK to be a little prick sometimes, a long as it’s not too hurtful. A flash of the headbeams at someone that didn’t stop at a stop sign or a chuckle as that business woman dragging her ridiculous rolling computer bag slams into the elevator door, an extra long glare as I make the left in front of the guy that stopped 15 feet over the stop line.

Does that really ruin anyone’s day? I suppose it could; but I don’t care cuz I’m a little prick.

About Yorick von Fortinbras

YvF is a writer, musician that stays sane by being creative while navigating the demands of life, looking for those holes where a spark can get through.
This entry was posted in advice, Mental problems, mind, Philosophy, relationships, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

