Fool’s Gold

Today is my 5th day in Peru.

Here’s another entry from my latest work entitled, “I Write On Anything (Written on a Napkin)“. This is also available as an eBook.

This is called “Fool’s Gold” and is also a tune. I wrote it in 1998 when I was unemployed and feeling kind of down. I had just gotten back from Guatemala and didn’t really have any prospects.

Purple eyes
From lack of sleep or the poor lighting, I’m not sure
Bad moon rising
from failure or from within?
I used to walk on that golden path
which has somehow changed
The path I was on was only fool’s gold
leading to ruin and despair but
sparkling and shimmering like a genuine article

Spearheads fiercely collect in a corner
Unable to fly as they once had when they had their companion
In flight, so bleak
Remorse dips in, checks in; leaves a mark
on the wall of my mind for the sole purpose of
making sure I don’t forget it was there
Quivers in and out – expected or not, with no
social grace, no previous call
Back again to thoughts of the purple eyes –
Just reminders that I am never really sure



About Yorick von Fortinbras

YvF is a writer, musician that stays sane by being creative while navigating the demands of life, looking for those holes where a spark can get through.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Existence, lyrics, Music, poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

