Why Does the Antelope Do that?

Today is my 9th day in Peru.

Here’s another entry from my latest work entitled, “I Write On Anything (Written on a Napkin)“. This is also available as an eBook.

This was written for a Psychology assignment back in college. I remember the professor called me in to speak to me about it but I didn’t go to her. I didn’t know what she was going to say, but I didn’t really want to know. Of course, this is also a tune.

“Why does the antelope do that?”
“Do what?”
“Why does he – dance around like that?”
“He is distracting the buffalo, trying to excite him.”
“But why would he want the buffalo to see him? Won’t he eat him?”
“Yes”
“I’m confused”
“Aren’t we all”
“You’re not”
“Yes I am”
“But you know why the antelope does that”
“I know a lot of things but I’m still confused”
“I still don’t understand why he wants to get his attention if he’s gonna eat ‘im”
“He dives in the water while the buffalo drinks. He knows if he just leaves, he’s going to get caught. The buffalo becomes alarmed, a bit agitated, questions the antelope. The antelope jumps, prances, dances, dodges. The buffalo begins to give chase but he can never catch the antelope while he does this. The erratic movements of the antelope causes the buffalo to move in ways he is not used to moving. He either falls and pulls his muscles or just says “fuck it” and the antelope gets away. It’s a classic deception strategy.”
“What’s that mean?”
“It means the antelope tricks the buffalo into playing his game – which he will always beat the buffalo at. It was his only way of avoiding the buffalo’s game – which the buffalo will always win.”
“So you can’t win at anyone else’s game?”
“Usually not”
“Do buffalo even eat antelope?”
“Of course they do. Don’t you read your books?”
“No”
“Why not?”
“Because they tell me I have to”
“But you still should”
“Wouldn’t that be playing their game?”
“No, that would be setting up the pieces to your game.”

About Yorick von Fortinbras

YvF is a writer, musician that stays sane by being creative while navigating the demands of life, looking for those holes where a spark can get through.
This entry was posted in advice, Creativity, Ideas, Music, short stories, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

