Dissolved to Rust

Lucky 13th day in Peru.

Here’s another entry from my latest work entitled, “I Write On Anything (Written on a Napkin)“. This is also available as an eBook.

Page 173:

Turned this into a good tune called Dissolved to Rust, one of my favorites. I’m pleased with the very optimistic line about waiting for sweetness to brush against my tongue. I also always think of George when I hear the lines “tiptoe tangled juggler swept under the ocean’s swell, drowned out from sight…” I wrote this 14 years before it actually happened to him. Just a sweet, sweet poem that I could enjoy over and over.

6/2/1995
It’s no surprise that I’m back again
conjuring up more grief
and reasons to hate life
and disprove my own beliefs
Destined to a life
of mere solitude and despair
when long years lie ahead
and futures look so bare

So take me, take me now if you must
And if you do, maybe you’ll earn my trust
I have seen many dreams
dissolved to rust

I must wait
I must await this eternity
until sweetness
brushes against my tongue

and even when it does
there will be a taste of bitterness

Gloom is my only paradise
Suits my style well
Tiptoe tangled juggler
Swept under the ocean’s swell
Drowned out from sight
As nothing ever before
Entered with stoodgy others
Into tall-talenic folklore

I must wait
I must avoid this eternity
until sweetness
only remains

  I AM DEAD

About Yorick von Fortinbras

YvF is a writer, musician that stays sane by being creative while navigating the demands of life, looking for those holes where a spark can get through.
This entry was posted in Creativity, death, Existence, george, love, Mental problems, peru, poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

