Outed

Today I was finally “outed”.

I have taken pride in knowing that I’m a mental case that somehow manages to be successful at work and escape the recognition by coworkers of said condition.

Someone caught me today.

What did me in? It was the Mini Moo coffee creamers – those damn little mini cream containers that have at times been in heavy demand in the company coffee pantry. I knew I shouldn’t have been hoarding them in my office. Actually, I knew I should have hid the fact that I was hoarding them.

But today, someone came in, pointed to the 30 mini cream containers haphazardly spread on the left side of my desk and said with a quizzical look on his face, “You know, that’s a sure sign of a severe mental problem.”

All I could think to do was agree with him and say, “that’s just the tip of the iceberg, my friend. You don’t want to know the rest.”

Hopefully he thought I was joking.

The whole house of cards is collapsing.

About Yorick von Fortinbras

YvF is a writer, musician that stays sane by being creative while navigating the demands of life, looking for those holes where a spark can get through.
This entry was posted in brain, Coffee, Mental problems, mind, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Outed

  1. Marie Overfors says:

    Greetings fellow lunatic! Though I have not gone so far as to hiding my hoarding of Mini Moo containers or whatever they are. But perhaps that’s only because I have NEVER seen one!

Leave a Reply

